Croquetas with a Balinese Twist

I was having a nosy through a Spanish cooking magazine the other day when a recipe for croquetas caught my eye.  The magazine was giving suggestions of what to do with leftover rice.  I much prefer rice to potatoes (the standard ingredient of all croquetas) so I thought I’d give it a try…  But their salmon and cheese filling just didn’t do it for me.  Not that there’s anything wrong with salmon and cheese; I just thought I could make them more interesting and I remembered something else I learnt from the wonderful Ketut at Payuk Bali – Sate Lilit (Spiced Fish Skewers)!!  I knew there and then that a combination of the two recipes would be a winner!

What You Need

Rice (the recipe used leftover long grain rice.  I used sticky rice.  See what you have in the cupboard/fridge)

Fish fillet – minced (I used Bonito, but Mackerel or White Tuna would work fine)

Base Gede (Balinese spice mix.  This requires a post of its own, which I’ll do immediately after this one!)

Egg – beaten

Breadcrumbs

Oil (the Balinese would use coconut.  I had sunflower in my cupboard!)

Frying Pan

Large Mixing Bowl

Deep Frying Pan/Wok or Deep Fat Fryer

How You Do It

Fry the Base Gede in some oil in your frying pan to release the flavours, then add the minced fish.  Fry on a medium heat for a couple of minutes until the fish is cooked but NOT DRIED OUT!  Leave it to cool.

Grab your large mixing bowl and put the rice in it.  If you’ve used sticky rice it takes a while to break it up!  (Plenty time for the fish to cool!)  Get your beaten egg ready in a bowl and the breadcrumbs on a plate.

Once the fish and spices have cooled, add them to the rice and get your hands in to mix it all up!

Mould the rice and fish mix into croqueta shapes (cylinders about 2 inches long), dip them into the egg, making sure they’re covered all over, then roll and coat them in the breadcrumbs.

When you’ve made all your croquetas, heat up the oil in your deep frying pan/wok/deep fat fryer.  You want a moderate to high heat.  If it’s too hot your breadcrumbs will burn, and no-one wants to eat burnt food, do they!?

Fry them until golden and serve!  They are DELICIOUS dipped in sweet chilli sauce!

UPDATE: Adding a splash of coconut cream to the fish and base gede makes these croquetas even tastier!

One thought on “Croquetas with a Balinese Twist

  1. Pingback: Ketut’s Balinese Base Gede « PotL◑◑k

Get in Touch!

