Indian Spiced Burgers

My parents have some friends coming round for a BBQ this afternoon, so I’ve been on preparation duty since yesterday when I started marinating the Jerk Chicken and the Spare Ribs.

This mornings task was burger making!  I don’t know how fussy these guests are, so I decided to make plain burgers.  Also, there’s lots of other flavours kicking around, so something plain means there’s something for everyone…

There was some burger mixture left over after I’d made one for each guest, so I decided I’d make myself a spicy burger for lunch!  Dad came home half way through cooking so I (begrudgingly) shared it with him.  He liked it so much that he asked me to make some for the BBQ!  Argh!  So, I have just finished destroying, spicing up and remodelling some of the burgers.  It was very tasty, so I thought I’d share!  Enjoy!

What You Need

Beef – minced (Get good quality meat from your butcher with some fat to ensure you don’t have dry burgers!  Lamb would also work nicely)

Onion – very finely chopped

Garlic – crushed

Maple Syrup/Honey

Bovril/Marmite

Flour

Egg – beaten

Salt & Pepper

Chilli Powder

Ground Cumin

Ground Paprika

Ground Turmeric

Ground Coriander (If you have fresh coriander, chop it finely and use it instead)

How You Do It

Put all the ingredients together in a bowl and bind together with your hands.  The flour is just to stick it all together.  I prefer using it to breadcrumbs.  Use sparingly, adding a bit at a time.  The spices are to taste, so add them “a su gusto” as we say in Spanish.  A drizzle of maple syrup/honey adds a little bit of magic and the Bovril/Marmite helps bring out the “beefy” flavour.

Once all the ingredients are well mixed together take about a handful, roll it into a ball and pat down into a burger shapes and repeat!  Put them onto a greased tray and cover with cling film and let them chill in the fridge for at least an hour.

Cook on the BBQ, in the grill or fry them.

Serve in a lightly toasted mini naan bread with some homemade Raita (natural/Greek yoghurt, cucumber – peeled and finely diced, finely chopped mint leaves and salt) and salad.  Scrumdiddlyumptious!

3 thoughts on “Indian Spiced Burgers

  1. Hi Holly, This sounds right up my street. I’ve put Bovril on my shopping list for the first time in many years!

  2. Pingback: Bean Burgers « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Cumin-Spiced Chicken and Egg Salad | LifeDelicacy's Blog

Get in Touch!

