Mushroom Risotto with a Spanish Twist

I’m Back!!!

I haven’t abandoned my blog, I promise.  I’ve just been travelling round since the Summer and so I’ve not had a chance to get on here and update it.  But, it’s a new year and it promises to be a more relaxed one, so hopefully I can share more recipes with you all!

True to form, January is taking a long time to pass.  Inevitably, we all spent too much money over the festive season and then we have to suffer the consequences all January long….  It’s occasions like this which send me scrabbling to the back of the kitchen cupboards, blowing dust off jars and doing my best to come up with a meal of some description.  January is the month when you’ve got to be extra creative and creative I was the other day when making dinner for my parents and I.

At the very back of one of the cupboards I found a jar of Nameko Mushrooms.  It’s been there about a year (I think), still in date but forgotten about.  I also found a bag of Arborio Rice.  Obvious thing to make; Mushroom Risotto.  Only problem was, we had no white wine or parmesan cheese in the house.  What we did have though was some manchego cheese and a bottle of Spanish jerez fino (light, dry sherry).  These would have to do, I thought….  Here’s how my Spanish risotto was born…

005 (2)

What You Need

Arborio Rice

Nameko Mushrooms – or whatever you have in the kitchen

Onion – finely chopped

Garlic – crushed

Manchego Cheese – grated

Hot, liquid stock – vegetable or chicken

Jerez fino (light, dry sherry)

Rosemary – sprigs or dried

Butter

Olive Oil

Large, deep, frying pan

How You Do It

Put the olive oil and butter in your frying pan on a medium-low heat.  Once the butter is melted, added the onion, garlic and rosemary and let it sweat.  You don’t want the onion or garlic to get any colour.  You just want them to soften.

If you are using fresh mushrooms, add them now and cook for a minute or two.  If you are using a jar of mushrooms like I did, then leave them to one side.

If you used fresh rosemary sprigs, remove them.

Once soft, add the rice and stir it around for a minute until everything is coated in the butter and oil and mixed together.

Pour a good splash of jerez fino into the pan and allow it to cook until absorbed, stirring constantly.

Then, add some stock – NOT ALL OF IT.  Stir it in and continue to stir every couple of minutes to ensure the rice isn’t sticking.  The pan should still be on a medium-low heat.  Add more stock, stir, allow the rice to cook and absorb the liquid.  (If you are using mushrooms from a jar like I did, you should add them during this step.  They don’t require cooking, just heating through).  Continue to do this until the rice is cooked.  It’s important that you add a bit of stock at a time as you don’t want the consistency to be like soup! 144

As the last of the stock is being absorbed, stir in the grated Manchego Cheese.  This will not only give a great flavour, but also add a real gloss to the dish.

Happy Eating!

6 thoughts on “Mushroom Risotto with a Spanish Twist

    • Thanks, Maria! A friend of mine came back to Spain for a few days last week and was complaining repeatedly about the cost of Spanish produce in the UK. I think he spent his entire time here eating, and in all honesty, who could blame him!? 🙂

      • omg i miss spanish food! tapas here are tiny and expensive!! will have to stock up on morcilla when I come over 🙂

  1. Pingback: Mushroom-Manchego Quesadillas Recipe – Vegetarian « WHOLE LIVING WEB MAGAZINE

Get in Touch!

