CFC! (Coconut Fried Chicken)

I know, I know….  It’s been ages since I posted and you probably thought I’d forgotten about this blog, but I haven’t!  I’ve just been busy getting married and moving to LA!

Since I got here, I’m not going to lie, my inspiration has evaded me somewhat….  I’ve cooked everyday, more than once a day (my husband gets the best packed lunches EVER!!), it’s just that I haven’t deemed anything blog-worthy.  Then there was the small matter of plates!  I take pride in the food photos I publish on here and continuity is important to me, so when I raised the issue of the “man plates” we have in our home not being up to par for my blog I was told to buy a couple of plates.  Simple!  Or so you would think….  I didn’t want a few random, mismatching plates!  The OCD in me wanted a whole new dinner service, of course.  The husbands response!?  “We have plates!  We don’t need a whole new set of plates.”

So, it took me a while to get round to buying “a few odd plates!”  I was spurred on by finding something which finally inspired me to blog – Roasted Coconut Chips, courtesy of Danielle Chips!  I discovered this taste sensation whilst out shopping with a friend last week.  I was famished and as always in America, I was surrounded by an abundance of fast food.  The health conscious part of me had the willpower to find something else.

Enter: Aforementioned Roasted Coconut Chips!

After just one mouthful I was already envisaging what I could do with this delicious ingredient.  And so was born the following….

What You NeedCFC Coconut Fried Chicken ingredients

Chicken Wings

Panko Breadcrumbs

Roasted Coconut Chips (See stockists on Danielle Chips)

Desiccated Coconut

Coconut Cream

Flour – seasoned with salt & pepper

Vegetable Oil

Pan – for deep-frying

Deep Frying/Sugar Thermometer

How You Do It

Preheat your oven to 180ºC (360ºF (ish)).

Heat the vegetable oil in the pan to the same temperature as the oven.  Use the deep frying/sugar thermometer to accurately gauge the temperature.

Crumble the roasted coconut chips into small pieces.  I did this using a sandwich bag, but you could pulse them quickly in a food processor.  Mix the crumbled coconut chips, desiccated coconut and Panko together in a bowl, majority ingredient being Panko, followed by coconut chips and then a small amount of desiccated coconut.

Coat each chicken wing in the seasoned flour, shaking off any excess, then dip them, one by one, into the coconut cream ensuring they are evenly coated.  Again, shake off any excess.

Taking each chicken wing in turn, give them a good coating of the Panko/coconut mixture.  Be sure to shake off the excess again and then put them to one side to rest until all the wings are coated and the oil and oven are hot.

Once all the wings have been through the flour – coconut cream – Panko/coconut process you can begin to fry them.

Panko cooks really quickly, hence the reason we can’t cook the wings in the hot oil alone.  You need to leave the wings in the hot oil just long enough for them to go golden brown.  Once they’re all a lovely golden colour, transfer them to a baking tray and pop them onto the middle shelf of the oven for around 10-15 minutes.  This will ensure they’re cooked all the way through, without being burnt on the outside!

Serve with fresh lime wedges!  CoconutFriedChickenlicious!!!

CFC Coconut Fried Chicken

Get in Touch!

