Roasted Vegetable Purée

So whilst I’ve not been blogging, I’ve still been cooking!  I started a Supper Club in our building to meet some of our neighbours, make some new friends and make use of the communal areas.  It’s been going for three months now and it’s growing every month!

For last weeks Supper Club the theme was BBQ!  I made a variety of dishes, one of them being Vegetable Skewers.  I had some of the marinated veg leftover, so I decide to roast it in the oven the next day and make them into a purée.

It was so yummy and so simple, that I thought I’d share.

What You NeedRoasted Vegetable Puree

Variety of Raw Vegetables – I used Peppers, Shallots, Mushrooms, Courgette & Beetroot

Garlic

Lemon

Fresh Rosemary

Fresh Thyme

Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper

Roasting Tin

Food Processor

How You Do It

Wash, peel, core and cut your veggies into equal sized chunks.

Place them into a Ziploc bag or bowl with zest of the lemon, the juice of half a lemon, peeled and smashed garlic (put the garlic clove on a chopping board and press down on it with the flat side of a knife blade), some sprigs of rosemary and thyme, a good glug of olive oil and some salt and pepper.

Seal the bag or cover the bowl and place in the fridge to marinate.  I’d recommend overnight or prepare them in the morning for use in the evening.

When you’re ready to cook them, preheat your oven to 180ºC/360ºF.

Transfer your veg from the bag/bowl to the roasting tin and place in the preheated oven for 30-40 minutes, or until cooked.

Once cooked, carefully spoon the veg only into a food processor (remove rosemary, thyme and lemon) and blitz into a purée.

I served it as a delicious side dish for my roast chicken pieces which I’d sprinkled with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder and roasted in the oven at the same time as the veg, and some cabbage and leeks I’d sautéed in butter, olive oil, salt and pepper.
Roasted Vegetable Puree

One thought on “Roasted Vegetable Purée

Get in Touch!

