Pork Larb Potstickers

Potstickers and Larb are two of my husbands favourite foods.  It was a couple of months ago that with the help of the website Appetite for China I made my first batch of potstickers.  They were so good that out of the 25 that I made, my husband was lucky to get 5 when he got in from work!  (Ooops!)  I have since redeemed myself by making more which have been thoroughly well received each time by guests and at one of my Supper Clubs!

Once you learn, they are so easy to make and I find the process of folding them to be wonderfully therapeutic.  Appetite for China gives a great guide for folding them, so please refer to their website when you get to that part of the recipe.

I was craving potstickers the other day and having had a delicious larb last weekend, I had larb on the brain!  I’d been thinking a lot about gyoza wrappers too and other uses for them.  I figured putting a Thai/Laotian filling into a Japanese pastry to make a Chinese dumpling was an experiment worth doing.

What You NeedPork Larb Potstickers

Pork – ground

Fresh Mint

Fresh Coriander

Shallots/Red Onion/Spring Onions

Red Chilli – fresh or dried

Palm Sugar

Fresh Lime

Fish Sauce

Roast Rice Powder

Gyoza Wrappers

Canola/Vegetable Oil

Frying Pan with a lid

How You Do It

Finely chop the chillies, mint, coriander, shallot/red onion/spring onions.  Combine them together with the ground pork, palm sugar, fish sauce, lime juice and roast rice powder in a bowl.  I usually use equal amounts of fish sauce and sugar when cooking with them both together.  For this dish I used one of the lumps of palm sugar shown in the photo.  Use the roast rice powder sparingly as it’s got a very strong flavour.

I used 1/2 lb of ground pork and around a 1tsp of roast rice powder.  I probably used about a 1/4 cup of red onion, mint and coriander, plus the juice of half a lime.  Be careful not to add too much liquid as you want the filling as dry as possible.  If you have the time, allow the mixture to rest for an hour.  I found that this let the flavours combine better and then I was able to strain the excess liquid off the mixture without losing any flavour.Folded Potstickers

 

Take your gyoza wrappers, one at a time, dip your index finger into a bowl of water and wet the edges slightly then spoon a heaped teaspoon of the mixture into the middle.  Time to refer to Appetite for China to get them perfectly folded!

 

Once you have folded all your potstickers put a small amount of oil into your frying pan and put it over a medium-high heat.  Add the potstickers, flat side down, and fry for around 30 seconds until the bottoms are golden brown.  Add a splash of water and cover.  Be careful not to add too much water as your potstickers will go jelly like, as opposed to nicely steamed.  You need only enough water to allow them to steam for about 2 minutes.  The water should have disappeared after 2 minutes, so add a little to begin with (say, 1/4 cup) and keep watching them.  You can always add more water if you think they need to steam for longer.  The skins will be slightly translucent once cooked.

And that’s it!  Simple!  I served mine with a dipping sauce made of finely sliced birds eye chillies, lime juice, fish sauce and sugar.  Delicious!

Pork Larb Potstickers

2 thoughts on “Pork Larb Potstickers

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Ravioli using Gyoza Wrappers | PotLook

  2. Pingback: 15 Minute Monday – Chicken Larb Gai | Daily Gluttony

Get in Touch!

